MerceqGuideJoin the alpha

17 · Copy and verify your footage safely

What happens to the original video?

  • Import in place, Copy, and Link: The source video contents aren’t changed.
  • Move to another disk: After a verified copy is created at the destination, the original is sent to the macOS Trash for supported sources. If the Trash can’t be used, the source stays in place.
  • Move on the same disk: The file’s location changes; a separate copy verification isn’t performed.
  • Clean up rejected clips: First they go to Merceq’s recoverable Trash; if you also confirm, the macOS Trash is used. Files aren’t deleted directly from camera cards.
  • Remove from Library: Removes the record, but doesn’t delete the video file.

Merceq doesn’t offer a command to permanently delete source videos. However, if you empty the macOS Trash later, the video may be permanently lost. Export, move, and macOS Trash tasks aren’t covered by normal ⌘Z undo.