11 · Manage background jobs and Merceq tools
Return to an unfinished job
If a source or destination disk disconnects during a transfer, Machine may wait for you to connect that disk again. In this case, you’ll see the message “Continues when {kart} is connected”.
- Check the job row in Machine or the notification to see which disk is needed.
- Reconnect the same disk.
- Check whether the job has resumed.
Merceq doesn’t only check the disk’s name; it checks its identity too. If you connect another disk with the same name, the job won’t switch to it; you’ll see the “This isn’t the card the transfer started from” warning. Eject the wrong disk and connect the right one.
If you closed and reopened the app, you’ll see the “The app was closed” warning for the unfinished job. Merceq asks how you’d like to continue:
- Check the source and destination. Machine shows how many files are complete with information such as “{i} / {n} files safe”.
- To continue, press Resume or the Resume transfer button in the notification.
- If you don’t want to do this job anymore, choose Cancel.
The remaining task can continue without transferring files that were already completed and verified. Here, “where it left off” doesn’t necessarily mean an unfinished individual file continues from the last byte copied.
Merceq may show a warning if you try to quit while a transfer is running. Remember the job may be interrupted before you use Quit anyway.